Kansas City, MO — October 2012

Best Student/Young Investigator Paper Awards

Acoustical Oceanography

Wu-Jung Lee, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Architectural Acoustics

First: Johannes Klein, RWTH Aachen Univ.
Second: Daniel Marquez, Brigham Young Univ.

Animal Bioacoustics

Jilian Vitacco, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz

Biomedical Acoustics

First: Kirthi Radhakrishnan, Univ. of Cincinnati
Second: Kun Jia, Zhejiang Univ.
Third: Karia Mercado, Univ. of Rochester

Engineering Acoustics

First: Robert C. Randall, Advanced Tech. and Manufacturing
Second: David A. Hague, Univ. of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

Musical Acoustics

First: Rohan Krishnamurthy, Eastman School of Music
Second: Mert Bay, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Carl Hart, University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Signal Processing in Acoustics

Samuel J. Anderson, Pennsylvania State Univ.

Speech Communication

First: Elizabeth Casserly, Indiana Univ.
Second: Ben Parrell, Univ. of Southern California

Structural Acoustics and Vibration

First: Alan T. Wall, Brigham Young Univ.
Second: Rico Meier, Fraunhofer CSP

Underwater Acoustics

Sean Walstad, Univ. of California, San Diego


(Echoes newsletter column describing Kansas City October 2012 ASA meeting)
Jennie Wylie

Hello from Kansas City! The Kansas City meeting was a great meeting for students with 90 students attending Monday night’s student icebreaker, and well over 100 students attending Wednesday night’s student reception. In addition, the Student Council hosted the 2nd annual special session entitled “Introduction to technical committee research and activities: Especially for students and first-time meeting attendees.” The session was a great success with a packed room. The Student Council would like to thank all of the presenters who volunteered their time and expertise to make this session possible.

Students, if you would like to get involved with the Society, several positions for technical committee representatives to the Student Council are opening up, with a term to begin immediately following the Montreal meeting. Also, nominations for the next ASA Student Mentoring Award, to be presented at the Fall 2013 San Francisco meeting, are due in early spring 2013. More details on both the Student Council openings and the Mentoring Award can be found on the ASA Student Zone website.

Looking towards Montreal, all students are encouraged to attend the student events and to join us for the student outings. It’s a great way to meet your fellow students and lean about the exciting research they are doing. For all up to date news, especially during the meetings, subscribe to our twitter feed @ASAStudents.

Looking forward to seeing everyone in Montreal!

Jennie Wylie is a PhD student at the University of Miami and the current Underwater Acoustics representative
to the Student Council. She can be contacted at j.wylie@miami.edu

(from Winter 2012 Echoes newsletter. Reprinted with permission.)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This