Honolulu, HI — December 2006

Student/Young Investigator Paper Awards

Animal Bioacoustics
1st – T. Aran Mooney, Univ. of Hawaii
2nd – Adam Smith, Bowling Green State Univ.

Acoustical Oceanography
1st – Paul Roberts, Scripps
2nd – Tadanori Fujino, Fisheries Research Agency, Hasaki, Japan

Architectural Acoustics
1st – Jonathan Rathsam, Univ. of Nebraska, Lincoln
Commendations –
Hisaharu Suzuki, Kyushu Univ.
Michelle Vigeant, Univ. of Nebraska, Lincoln
Genta Yamauchi, Kyushu Univ.

Engineering Acoustics
1st – Marie Nakazawa, Tokyo Inst. of Tech.
1st – Junfeng Li, Tohoku Univ.

Musical Acoustics
1st – Andrey Ricardo da Silva, McGill Univ.
2nd – Eric Dieckman, Truman State Univ.

Noise Young Presenter Award
Miwako Ueda, Japan

Signal Processing Young Presenter Award
James W. Gregory

Speech Communication
ASA 1st – Maria V. Kondaurova, Purdue Univ.
ASA 2nd – Eric Oglesbee, Indiana Univ.
ASJ 1st – Tatsuya Akagawa, Tokyo Inst. of Tech.
ASJ 2nd – Masashi Ito, Tohoku Univ.

Structural Acoustics and Vibration
1st – Jared Thomas, Brigham Young Univ.
2nd – Huancai Lu, Wayne State Univ.

Underwater Acoustics
1st – Claire Debever, Scripps
2nd – Andrew A. Ganse, Univ. of Washington


Student E-Zine

(Echoes newsletter column describing Honolulu Dec 2006 ASA/ASJ meeting)
Andrew Ganse

Aloha! As expected, the Honolulu meeting was a popular one, with high attendance at the student functions. At every ASA meeting, two evenings of the week are filled with student social activities, meant to introduce students to each other and to encourage them to become more involved in their field and the ASA. Meanwhile, against a backdrop of tropical tinged holiday tunes, beachwear, and leis, the student council was busy in Honolulu preparing more resources for the students of ASA.

The next Student Council Mentoring Award will be presented at the New Orleans meeting in fall 2007. The council welcomes all students in the ASA to nominate a mentor who has demonstrated exceptional ability in guiding the academic or professional growth of students and junior colleagues. The nominee does not need to be a professor, but must be a member of the ASA. Please see the “Mentor Award” section of the student website for more information and nomination forms, and email your student council representatives with questions. The deadline for submission is 23 April 2007.

Lastly, the council is soliciting for new fellowship/grant information and announcements for the student website and forum. If you are a professor or researcher who has a fellowship, grant, or post-doc position at your university dealing with acoustics that you would like to advertise to students in the ASA, the student council representative in your section would love to hear about it so that a short announcement can be placed on the student website.

All the best in the New Year and we’ll look for you at the next meeting in Salt Lake City!

Andrew Ganse is a seismology graduate student at the University of Washington and the student representative for Underwater Acoustics.

(from Winter 2007 Echoes newsletter, published in Acoustics Today, Vol. 17, Issue 1, © 2007 Acoustical Society of America. Reprinted with permission.)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This